Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 99 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 106.13.2.243  - Script
· 191.252.88.76  - Script
· 115.124.100.72  - Script
· 193.137.124.194  - Script
· 177.104.121.116  - Script
· 39.108.51.0  - Script
· 185.174.184.132  - Script
· 203.150.37.223  - Script
· 118.122.227.185  - Script
· 82.165.85.125  - Script
· 212.83.135.37  - Script
· 62.234.74.254  - Script
· 13.229.230.75  - Script
· 23.91.70.59  - Script
· 50.63.160.121  - Script
· 185.182.57.105  - Script
· 106.52.96.120  - Script
· 160.16.93.80  - Script
· 180.232.7.14  - Script
· 148.66.157.162  - Script

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

DTek Customs UVCCFL

DTek, one of our sponsors, was kind enough to send me one of their UVCCFL’s for review. This is kinda serendipitous since I just got a buttload of UV dyes from Overclockershideout! Anyhoo…I have been fairly backlogged and sat on the product for a bit but here it is just for you…our beloved MHW readers!

UV dye was intended primarily for leak testing in industrial applications…if you think there is a leak in a vessel, pipe, etc. just add this neutral UV reactive dye into the working fluid and come back later with a UV Fluorescent light…VOILA! You will see you leak in cool Day-Glo colors! Most things are reactive to UV light but these dyes simply explode with color.

Computers have reached a point where there are fewer and fewer places to go; so, as is natural, function begets art. By adding UV Dye to your water cooling system and adding a UVCCFL to your box you can become the hit of the LAN party or at least a legend in your own mind! >>that’s me<<

Here are some shots of the product I was sent:

Dtek CCFL Box     Dtek CCFL Bundle

Pretty basic stuff here…no real surprises except that I really like the package the ballast comes in…instead of a shrink-wrapped PCB you get a nicely boxed up whatsits with ventilation holes. I also liked the square ends on the CCFL for ease of mounting. There are mounting widgets in the box but I generally find that there is nothing that 3M Double Sticky Tape can’t mount with a little work so I didn’t use the supplied mounting flats and zip ties.

Here are some shots of the Ballast and Tube mounted:

Light Mounted

As you can see the mounting of both items was a snap! I also used a nub of hot glue…hot melted it onto the case…heated up the exposed end and pressed the switch into it…easy to do and removable. You can see it in the left picture on the bottom left side.

If I am going kinda fast it’s because I want to show you the “Lights-Out” pictures of the system with the UVCCFL on:

Lights Out 1     Lights Out 2

These pics really don’t do the installation justice; digital photography has its limits folks but trust me when I say that it was Uber Cool! The UVCCFL was so “bright” that my whole lab was glowy in a way that reminded me of my misspent youth! >>where is that dam incense??<<

Conclusions and Mumblings…

The DTek UVCCFL is pretty cool…the effect is muted by the UV resistant properties of the Tygon tubing I happen to use but it is still pretty neato. I wonder if the UV can actually suppress the dreaded bacteria/plant growth that seems to afflict so many water cooled systems? I know hospitals use UVCCFL’s in their bathrooms to kill ooky things though. Installation took maybe 8 minutes including the pictures and is well within the skills of the average power user to set up. So…if you are looking for a spiffy way to liven up your system give the DTek UVCCFL a go…

Pros:

  • Easy to set up
  • Low power usage
  • Long MTBF

Cons:

  • Um……
  • Err……
  • HHmmnnnn…..
  • Can’t think of any!

Added: March 17th 2003
Reviewer: Outcast
Score: 9  
Related Link: DTek Customs
Hits: 6535
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.04 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::