Monster-Hardware Logo
  Login or Register
Real American

USA Flag

 
nukeNAV
 
Search



 
Who's Online
There are currently, 92 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are an Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here
 
Latest Forum Posts
Last 10 Forum Messages

My Best Buy Sales Experience
SABERTOOTH R2.0 BIOS MIA
SodaStream Anyone?
Tazerball
A Joke Gone Bad
Retrode Gaming
Stealth Bastard
Cooler Master HAF X
Thoughts About Bulldozer
Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB

Monster-Hardware Forums

 
Latest Reviews

· Crucial DDR3-1600 8GB
· Cooler Master HAF X
· Seagate ST31000524AS
· Logisys MS6801 Mouse
· Mitsuba DC500T 5MP
· Infrared Thermometer
· DXG-595V 5MP 1080p
· SanDisk Sansa View
· Rfrb Dell Latitude D410
· (HP) Sempron LE-1250
 
NukeSentinel
This is the list of NukeSentinel(tm) banned IP addresses.

· 27.147.195.221  - Script
· 42.51.41.136  - Script
· 112.114.103.154  - Script
· 79.98.28.18  - Script
· 94.73.147.157  - Script
· 106.52.21.220  - Script
· 139.159.232.43  - Script
· 192.130.146.77  - Script
· 152.234.184.144  - Filter
· 114.216.54.52  - Script
· 132.232.66.184  - Script
· 37.230.104.172  - Script
· 212.1.212.3  - Script
· 72.167.190.198  - Script
· 180.103.40.104  - Script
· 104.238.120.11  - Script
· 94.130.125.243  - Script
· 117.81.84.130  - Script
· 23.247.81.45  - Script
· 160.153.157.139  - Script

NukeSentinel(tm)
 

DIY Kleer-Dome Badges

 

Introduction

I have always kind of had a thing for case badges. In fact, I still have the first case badge from the first machine I ever had built. That case badge has been on every single computer of mine I have built to this day. It was sort of a rite of passage: When a new machine was done and fully-tested, my Plus Data case badge went on it. As much as I have come to cherish that old domed Plus Data case badge, I have been looking for a long time to retire it, and replace it with a custom-made case badge. In the past, that has always been too expensive. Recently though, with the introduction of the DIY Kleer-Dome Case Badges that has changed.

Two Case Badges

DIY Kleer-Dome, Plus Data Dome

Before I talk about the custom case badges, though, I would be remiss if I didn't mention that Sample Graphics has several hundred pre-made designs, also. With that many to chose from chances are you will find some that you like. I chose ten that caught my eye and all ten were in stock. These badges are high quality domed badges, equal in quality to the best badges I have seen. Don't take my word for it though, judge for yourself, from the pictures below. The adhesive is also very sticky and the case badge backing easy to remove, the fit is right on the money.

Misc Assorted Badges

Two Custom Badges

Mud Flap Girl

DIY Kit

The Do-it-Yourself Kleer-Dome kit is a well-thought-out design, simple to use, easy to follow instructions, all materials included, professional-looking results (depending on the quality of your printer).

Case Badge Instructions

Step by Step

Find an image, resize it to print 1" sq.
Print it off on a quality ink jet printer, preferably using photo paper for better results.
Peel the Kleer-Dome sticker off, place it over your image, trim to fit.
Cut a small section of the enclosed double-stick tape, apply it to the back.
Attach it to the front of your case.

MHW Badge

I thought I should mention that most of the blurriness you see here is because the printer I used doesn't really have the super high printing resolution necessary for such a small detailed image. This was also the point that I decided if I was to do this review justice I was going to have to throw in an example of one of the Kleer-Dome case stickers with a better quality image.

Bunny Badge

As you can see this one, which features an image I cut out of a magazine of a rabbit in a hat, is much less blurry the point to this image was to show that the blurriness in the above image was not the result of the front of the Kleer-Dome case badge but rather my source image. If you need a large number of case badges, Sample Graphics will also custom make them to your specifications. For example the dome case badges used on the Swiftech Quiet Power were made by Sample Graphics.

Conclusion:

With enough supplies to make six Kleer-Domes in the DIY kit you have a little margin for error. If you are unhappy with your first attempt, no big deal you still have five more left. If you get it right the first time you have some left over to make some for friends and family. I personally liked these dome case badges so much, don't be surprised if you see some MHW case badges made by Sample Graphics based on the Glacialink design I used for the Kleer-Dome kit floating around here in the future.

Pros:

  • Wide pre-made selection of case badges
  • Professional looking results from the DIY Kleer-Dome kit
  • Kleer-Dome kit is only ten bucks
  • Free US shipping

Cons:

  • The Pre-made badges are rather pricey ($4.00 each) if bought individually

 

Added: June 19th 2002
Reviewer: JimAdkins
Score: 9  
Related Link: Kleer-Dome
Hits: 4529
Language: english

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

Reviews ©
 

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 by Jim Adkins


Distributed by Raven PHP Scripts
New code written and maintained by the RavenNuke™ TEAM


(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.07 Seconds

:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Recoded To 100% W3C CSS & HTML 4.01 Transitional & XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance by RavenNuke™ TEAM ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation :: W3C XHTML 1.0 Transitional Compliance Validation ::